causes of poverty and solution

The increased poverty level is often considered one of the most significant challenges in many countries worldwide. This essay will explore how unemployment and the increased illiteracy level can be considered the root cause of this concern, and how through the government’s initiatives to create opportunities and to provide free education in the country, this problem can be curtailed. There are multiple causes of an increase in the poverty level around the globe. Firstly, one of the biggest reasons behind this concern is unemployment. As jobless people cannot provide shelter and food to their families, which leads to an increase in the rates of poverty in the country. Take an example of Uganda, where the significant increase in poverty has been attributed to increasing unemployment rates in the country. Thus, unemployment can be considered as the fueling force behind this issue. Secondly, apart from unemployment, an increase in illiteracy level can also be termed as the leading cause of this problem. As Illiterate people cannot contribute in the development of the economy. For instance, a recent report released by the Ministry of Commerce in Zimbabwe, revealed that an increased poverty level in the country is mainly because of the illiterate people. Hence, illiteracy can be considered as the breeding ground of poverty in many countries. However, there are certain viable measures that can be taken to curb this issue. The primary solution I believe would be the government’s initiatives. As creating job opportunities for peoples would certainly reduce the poverty level in the country. Furthermore, another effective solution I believe would be free education policies. As effective government measures to provide free education to every citizen will increase the literacy rate, which would reduce the level of poverty in the country. To sum-up, even though the unemployment and illiteracy are widespread, but I believe through the government's initiatives to create opportunities and free education policies, this problem can be tackled to a large extent.