Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

This it true that in the recent times due to more number of private vehicles on the road creates the problem of traffic congestion in the most part of the globe. I do believe this observation is true. The authorities have many way in which they can encourage to car owner to not to use their cars. Both, my stand as well as proactive measures are discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. Discussing my opinion, I believe there are many reasons which gives the result that car usage is increasing day by day. To begin with, as compared to past 3 decade now there are more number of cars on the road. This is to say that in past time this four wheel vehicle is seems as social symbol only rich people can afford it but now anyone can afford it at easy loan installments. For instance, as per survey in India there are rising almost 52% car users as compared to last years. Moreover, it requires more space for parking. To elaborate, as compared to 2 wheeler these vehicles required huge space and also special arrangement. While it is on road, it take almost the space of 4 bicycle. Therefore, create the problem of traffic. To avoid this traffic related issue and prevent the car owners to use it, the government can provide some suggestions. First and foremost one is enforce the law regards of purchasing the car. That means, one family have one car only. This will not reduce the problem of traffic on road but also lessen the pollution. Furthermore, they should increase the facilities in the public transport such as increase the seating capacity, comfortable travelling and air-conditioning coaches. Finally, they can give certain discount to use of public buses and train. This is how they can discourage the private owners to avoid the use of their personal vehicles. To sum up, there are certain arguments which proves that in the current scenario traffic problem is major and given statement is true and my arguments prove it. Nonetheless, the ruling party if wish to reduced certain suggestions are there too to overcome this problem.