Before an important exam, do you think it is better to prepare for a long time or only for a few days? Give examples and reasons to support your argument

Last moment preparation for exams has been advocated by many people. I believe it is not an effective approach and one, should be ready weeks before a test. This essay will discuss how organized study helps in improving an individual’s learning of a subject and also the psychological impact of it with relevant examples to support my points. There is ample evidence indicating the proficiency of a language is directly proportional to number of hours that an individual caters to learn it. The central reason for this is two-fold, firstly, it helps to retain increased information over longer duration. This aids in recollecting the same while being tested on it. Secondly, chronic reading and learning helps in identifying areas of weakness much before the deadline. Handling weaknesses is crucial in gaining expertise in any course. To illustrate this, a HBS research report outlines that, 60% of IELTS enthusiasts get a same score for at least 3 times before seeing an increase. The primary reason is due to late realization on the areas of growth. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that having a study plan not only helps in getting a better score but also assists in increasing an individual’s prowess in that particular course. In addition to this, longer study periods not only eliminates fear but also boosts confidence of the learner. Getting rid of sense of failure will result in a more positive mindset, a significant attribute to possess before an evaluation. For example, A research has been conducted on a group of students who were taking an exam, some of them took their time, the other group studied for only two days. When the results came up, the greatest number of the passing students were from the students who invested more learning hours than the other. Thus, it possible to state that more extended phases of study will have a favorable impact on the results. To sum up, in my view in order to be have a successful outcome of an assessment, the efficient approach is to have a working knowledge of the course and also a positive perspective towards it which can be achieved by organized schedule of learning over the duration of specialization.