"Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. " What do you think this means?

Is has often been said that "Beauty is subjective". It is an idiom that refers to having a preference for someone's qualities or traits. Despite being commonly applied for people, this statement can be extended to other categories, such as objects or animals. An extreme position cannot be taken from my perspective, as the argument should be examined from different angles. From one side, one must admit that taste is a determining factor when charting our life paths. Humans are guided by their inclinations, and every action taken is nothing but the result of subjective choices. This covers a wide range of aspects, from day-to-day preferences to large ones, such as choosing life partners or friends. But what determines people's tendencies? Regardless of being a difficult question, recent studies have shown that patterns can be noticed as people, when selecting potential partners, tend to search for traits or attitudes they have. However, history has shown how objectivity has been necessary, as indicates a yardstick of quality. Without this, excellence or mediocrity in many fields as art or architecture, would not be present. In Ancient Greece, aesthetic canons are a case in point, as they believed that beauty was deeply related to symmetry and harmony. To sum up, provided that neither takes precedence over the other, both claims have a degree of truthfulness. In the first case, in a society where standards are nonexistent, some values would not be recognizable. On the other hand, personal preferences would be taken into account, as just charts are needed.