Atomic energy is becoming more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth to danger. What is your opinion?

The number of nuclear power stations has significantly risen during the last few decades. This trend demonstrates the growing popularity of this source, which looks promising in our eternal struggle for cheap and unlimited energy. However, I agree with people who consider atomic power a menace to both humanity and the environment. It is indisputable, that the nuclear power sector has its own benefits. Firstly, energy stations using highly radioactive elements as fuel are more efficient from an economic perspective. The chief reason is lower costs and the amount of energy stored in less material in comparison with organic carriers such as coal, gas and oil. Besides, almost no harmful by-products are discharged by nuclear stations, and they virtually may be considered ecologically clean facilities when operating in normal conditions.