As transport and accommodation problems are increasing in many cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to overpopulation, local governments are finding it difficult to provide basic living and range of transport facilities to inhabitants due to less available space in city for expansion. While few believe relocating commercial businesses to outskirts of the city would help in building new infrastructure in the city for citizens. There are lot of benefits in moving industries to rural areas which can contribute in city’s growth directly. Firstly, it would make room for local governing body to develop more housing and transportation space in city. Secondly, pollution can be curbed to an extent caused due to commercial activities carried out by industries. Thirdly, entrepreneurs would get an opportunity to expand their business in countryside due to free availability of land. Lastly, people staying in rural areas would have more employment opportunities within their reach. For instance, in city of “Tuscan” in Italy, it is mandatory for commercial businesses to be setup in 50 miles away from city. Therefore, it is quite beneficial for businesses to move out from city for overall development and growth of city and businesses both. On the contrary, there are few demerits which needs to be considered if firms are moved and relocated. Due to heavy emission of toxic industrial waste, pollution can rise at a tremendous rate. Natural beauty and wildlife will be endangered due to their production activities. People employed with these firms living in city would have to travel more in order to reach their work. For example, trees were axed in Rosevile area of Boston to enable new businesses to set up, which resulted in decline of wildlife in the vicinity. Hence, moving companies in outskirts of city has its own share of disadvantages to ponder upon. In my opinion, there are lot of merits it has to offer for overall development of city as well as the industries. By implementing strict norms for moved industries, even disadvantages can be controlled to a great extent. Cities can seamlessly offer more accommodation and transport facilities and industries can flourish by expanding their business and production. To conclude, local government needs to put certain regulations in place that will help businesses to relocate and prosper without affecting the natural beauty preserved in rural areas. Efficient civic planning by native economy would help find a win-win solution for everyone.