As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Nowadays, job satisfaction is becoming a lion's share in everyone's life because people have to spend around half of the day at the workplace. In this essay, I will discuss what factors could fulfil the needs of an employee along with what is the reality of this contemporary world for workers. There are plethora of factors which can contribute to have satisfaction in a job. Firstly, when a student or any person studies, one always thinks of being well paid by the company, therefore, good salaries should be given to them. Secondly, the good staff members in a workplace is part and parcel to every single person because one spends plenty of time there. Lastly, if some kind of bonus or offers from the companies would be given to employees then it would be the icing on a cake. However, in the real world there are only few people who have achieved these satisfactions. For instance, the salaries which are given to the non-skilled factory staff is very low, despite the working hours are far more than skilled ones. Last but not the least, plethora of white-collar workers also suffer from this concern. Many companies take the advantage of competition in the cutting-edge world, they always choose a person who would be more beneficial in terms of profit whether they need to cut the salaries. Moreover, friendly staff and other offers or bonus from companies are also seen in an insignificant amount. In conclusion, the satisfaction of a worker is inevitable to that person as well as to the organisation to produce a better output.