Article 5. 1. (b) of New York Convention defines that the recognition and enforcement of the award may be refused on the ground that the party against

Article 5. 1. (b) of New York Convention defines that the recognition and enforcement of the award may be refused on the ground that the party against whom the award is invoked was not given proper notice of the appointment of the arbitrator or of the arbitration proceedings or was otherwise unable to present his case. However, the main thrust of this provision of the Convention is directed at ensuring that the requirements of “due process” are observed and that the parties are given a fair hearing. Obviously, parties’ right to be heard is of particular concern in regard to caucusing. If the Arbitral Tribunal holds private sessions and listens to what one party has to say in the absence of the other, that party may reveal facts to the members of the tribunal the other party is unable to rebut. Such an ex parte conversation is a textbook example for a violation of the right to be heard and usually constitutes a ground to vacate the award. Nevertheless, there is also one strong contra-argument which is against the abovementioned “right to be heard” principle when the mediating arbitrator uses caucusing technique. The argument is “confidentiality of information gained through caucusing” principle. During caucusing party is able to provide the mediator with confidential information that is not shared with the other party and mediator’s possession of such confidential information from both parties usually allows the mediator to guide the parties to an amicable settlement. In order to avoid from the conflict of mentioned principles, for example, Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution Rules for the Facilitation of Settlement in International Arbitration (hereinafter “CEDR Settlement Rules”), in its Article 3 (General principles) states that: “4. Nothing said or done by any Party or its counsel in the course of any settlement discussions, or in the course of any other steps taken by the Arbitral Tribunal to facilitate settlement, shall be used against a Party in the event that the arbitration resumes (save as regards the allocation of costs in accordance with Article [6] of these Rules). 5. The tribunal shall not take into account for the purpose of making an Award, any substantive matters discussed in settlement meetings or communications, unless such matter has already been introduced in the arbitration”. Unfortunately, while the Prague Rules do not prohibit the use of caucusing during the hybrid process of mediation during arbitration and have not formulated any general principles such as in CEDR Settlement Rules, the basic principles “right to be heard in arbitration” and “confidentiality of information obtained in mediation” are more likely to collide and risk the final award under the “due process” ground.