Animals are in danger of extinction. Some people say that we should protect only those animals which are useful to humans.

Nowadays the number of endangered species has reached an alarming stage. While some people think humans should only protect animals which are useful to us, I completely disagree with this idea and I believe we should try to protect all species, even if there are those who think they are not useful. This essay will present arguments to support my opinion. First, I believe a large number of animals which is in danger of extinction is due to human activity. For example, deforestation and intentional burnings are two of the main factors that made dozens of species disappear. Therefore, there is nothing fairer than protect those animals that we put in this situation, whether or not they are useful to humans. Furthermore, we may think that some species are not useful nowadays, but we are not able to predict the future and some species that we classify as unuseful, will be in the future. Second, every animal has an important role in the environment. In other words, every single specie is extremely vital to maintain the animal kingdom balanced. For example, the extinction of one single animal can lead to serious troubles for others. This is because every animal has a position in the animal net, while some are preys, others are predators. If one of them disappears, the whole system may be in danger. To sum up, I believe humans should be worried about protecting all kinds of animals. Not only because they are essential to the environment, but also because some of them are endangered due to human activity.