An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where the

The author concludes here that the scent of lavender flower cures insomnia within a short period of time. stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. In support of this conclusion, the author reasons that the team of thirty volunteers had slept on lavender-scented pillows in the night for three weeks in a row and thus their insomnia had been cured. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. first of all, the argument readily assumes that the insomnia of the volunteers has cured because they slept on the lavender-scented pillows. this is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, what if the medication that they took earlier in those weeks has cured the insomnia or the room was more sleep inducing. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that []. The argument also readily claims that during the first week the volunteers slept soundly but wakened feeling tired because they are on medication. this again is a weak and unsupportive claim since it does not demonstrate that the scent of the lavender flowers caused this. To illustrate further []. Finally, the author points out that during the second week they did not sleep well and was very tired because they stopped taking the medication. but it does not provide any information that whether or not the lavender flower caused this issue. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical aspects and raises skeptical questions. For example, why they been so tired and slept less in the second week despite of sleeping on the lavender flower pillow? why they slept soundly in the first week even being on the medication? why the author put the volunteers in medication in first place? without convincing answers to these questions the reader is left in the impression that the claim made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it the author must provide much more concrete evidence, perhaps by a detailed analysis of the medication and the scent of the lavender flower.