Soon technology will provide smart cars: cars that virtually drive themselves. A computer in the car determines the speed and route to the desired destination. The computer is in continuous contact with a global positioning system and other technologies t

In lecture teacher believes that smart car will not be make driving safer, quicker and less expensive as stated by the passage. Even if these cars meet the technological advancements, they will not benefit as much as stated in the passage. First, even the most modern technical devices made fail sometime, so these cars will be vulnerable to fail sometimes. As the cars will be more tightly packed, they will follow each othter closely even at high speeds, accidents will be much worse as there will be number of cars that wil pile up in accident if one of the car gets crashed. Second, increasing highway speed will not result in reduction of travelling time. History has shown whenever driving expereince has made easier more number of people opted to drive cars. More number of cars will lead to more traffic. So, because of more congestion commuting time will not reduce. Finally, smarts cars will not bring a reduction in the costs of driving. Global positioning technolgy that drives cars from one place to another place is very expensive. Furthermore, cost of repairing sensors that guides cars how far other car is in front of them and other sensors is expensive. Repairing these parts of cars will be much more than repairing and replacement of traditional parts of conventional car.