Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources.

Present-day society relies heavily on natural riches, especially fuel which is used for transportation. However, arguing that only rising of fuel prices will decrease fuel consumption without offering an alternative will only lead to social tension and economic instability. There are a number of reasons for this. Firstly, most people are dependent on fuel to commute to work or school, either by car or using public transport. In fact, the whole economy needs fuel, especially when it comes to international and local trade, tourist industry and logistics in general. On the one hand, authorities can easily increase prices. On the other hand, if no options are offered, the consequences might be disastrous and several industries will be severely affected, which in turn will have a negative impact on the rest of the economy. Secondly, reduction of world fuel consumption would not be a problem if there was a replacement – cheaper and more effective. It is true that electric cars, being eco-friendly, have drawn more and more attention recently. Unfortunately, despite their benefits for the environment, their price is still considerable and not so many people could afford such a purchase. Even if an alternative to fuel existed – free of charge and available to all – it would meet the fierce opposition of oil production companies since it would mean the end for them. In conclusion, although I think that increases in prices could reduce to a certain extent the use of fuel worldwide, I do not believe that this is the only way to do it. With the advancement of technology, new methods of transportation are bound to appear. It is only a matter of time.