Although more and more people use public transportations, some city streets are still overcrowded with traffic. What are the causes of it? How can this issue be solved?

These days, many people utilize public transportation as a mode of transport to go around. In spite of it, we still can see the traffic congestion on the road. I believe this problem has causes and right measures. The main reason why jamming still available is the number of private transportation is higher than public transportation. For instance in Jakarta, governments have provided convenient public transport, such as LRT, MRT, subway, but most citizens still prefer to use their car or motorcycle. The other reason is many individuals use 1 car for 1 person, which leads to inefficiency, moreover, a crowded road. Many people have the same destination, even though it is not exactly the same, they tend to use private transportation, since public transport does not stop at the passengers' exact destination. There are some solutions to overcome this trouble, such as increasing the number of people on personal transportation. For instance, if one car has a maximum capacity of 8 passengers, they only can use it if there are a minimum of four passengers. If it is lower than that, they can not use it. The other solution is to use the odd and even program. For example, if a car's license plate has an odd number in the end, they can use it on the odd date, which applies to an even number too. All in all, even if more people prefer to use the subway, LRT, and others, cars and motorcycles are still preffered by most individuals. This problem can be solved with strict rules to maximalize the number of passengers in cars and doing the odd and even program.