Although more and more people use public transport, some city streets/roads are still overcrowded with traffic. How can this problem be solved? Provide specific reasons and examples

The number of vehicles has increased in the last few decades. Despite the fact that many people prefer to utilize public transportation like buses and local trains, many roads are crammed with traffic. This essay will analyze the reasons for this predicament and enlist some measures to tackle it. There are numerous reasons of traffic congestion on the city roads. The first is the ever increasing population. Although many people do not use personal vehicles, yet the number of the buses and taxis plying on the roads is multiplying to cater to the needs of the burgeoning commuters. Therefore, the problem of busy roads remains unanswered. Secondly, most of the streets and roads, especially in the older parts of the city have been constructed in such an unplanned way, that they are very narrow. There are many bottle necks, which cause tremendous overcrowding. To solve this problem, a number of steps can be taken. The larger vehicles should be run on the major roads and only smaller means like three wheelers should be allowed inside the streets. Moreover, the people should be encouraged to walk or use non-motorized means like bicycles to cover shorter distances. This will reduce traffic congestion as well as pollution. Thirdly, the government must deal with the illegal use of roads by vendors. If unlawful encroachments are removed from the roads, they will automatically become wider. Better traffic management can be ensured in the future, if broader lanes are planned. To conclude, keeping in view the abovementioned causes behind the jammed roads, careful development in the future is suggested. People must be motivated to use eco-friendly means wherever possible. Some side routes might also be constructed to manage the packed traffic. Joint efforts by the public and the authorities would be a great idea.