Although abuse of the system are inevitable, social welfare payments are essential to protect the rights citizens have to a guaranteed minimum income in a democratic society" Discuss

Every nation is now a days working towards a common goal which is to priortise the social welfare program so as to provide it's citizens assured minimum income. Though this program is somewhat mismanaged due to the fact that the population and unemployment rate is alarmingly increasing, I still believe that it is the need of the hour for many developing and undeveloped nations. This essay will discuss the advantages for these programs and few problems and possible solutions around the same. Most of the unemployed people are forced to take the path of suicide because of the mental stress and programs like these solves this issue to some extent as with this, a person has money to feed his family and for health care. This also provides a confidence to unemployed people that they can still search for jobs while taking care of themselves and their families. Another biggest advantage is for retired elders with no proper savings as with this program, they can get money for self care. While the program is solving a serious problem, it has few gaps that needs to be addressed as soon as possible. Many nations lack the tracking of citizens that are enrolled in this program. There is also a gap in tracking the historic data. Ideally this information should be mapped to a person's SSN card. While a few nations have implemented the SSN mapping, the government has observed a number of fake entries. Ideally the whole system should be biometric where a person has to visit an authorized collection centre to collect the money. For elders, the verification should happen over a video call to make sure that the correct person gets the money. Every program has a room for improvement and considering the fact that this program solves a major alarming issue, it is important if the nations can work towards improving the program by leveraging technology.