Advertising is extremely successful at persuading us buy things.

Some individuals have an opinion that advertising is vital in making clients buy some product. However, others believe that advertising is no longer that important, in the light of the fact that many people simply ignore it. I believe that advertising is still a primary way for many companies to attract customers. In this essay I will discuss both views on this controversial topic. On one hand, nowadays, companies are using a plethora of marketing techniques such as conspicuous packaging designs, discounts and special offers. Moreover, some companies use sophisticated technological methods as sending letters about new offers, online promotions and phoning random potential customers to increase their interest. For example, according to a survey conducted by New York Times, there was a huge rise in sales of “Apple” company products in the past 10 years with changes in the advertising methods and strategies used to attract buyers. Hence, it is evident that advertisements still have an important role in persuading people. On the other hand, some individuals claim that they are likely to ignore advertisements owing to the fact that they are useless and not attractive for them. Although it is manageable to take no notice of some adverts, it is impossible to resist the will to learn more about extremely attractive offers that pop up on the screens of electronic devices. For instance, many mobile users are unable to stop themselves from checking deals which they see and thus they automatically click on the offer messages. To conclude, advertising still can be called a leader in grabbing the attention of buyers even though some people attempt to disregard it.