Advantages and disadvantages of work from home

The trend of working from home has become increasingly popular these days especially post-pandemic. Although, employees are struggling to cope up with work-life balance and a problem of over digitization, work from home provides an option in terms of flexible working hours and upskilling. In my opinion, it is far more beneficial for employees because this would give them more time in hand to do things they love. The greatest benefit is, Instead of working from the traditional 9-5 office set-up, we all work from the comfort of our homes. It allows people to work according to their preference with no time-constraint. For example employees in my country are no longer bound to commute. They all end up saving crucial time which they can utilize for more productive activities. With an opportunity to work from home, every individual who is willing to learn new things can take up the opportunity. On the flip side, people now more than ever are struggling to strike a work-life balance. Employees are expected to submit deliverables within unrealistic deadlines. In addition, Employees are exposed to the blue rays right from the time they wake up, to the time they fall asleep. For instance, due to extended screen time, a majority of employees are facing health related issues such as back pain and eye related problems. Certainly, work from home has affected our mental health and deprived us of human connection. The new normal is the culture in which we all are connected to each other through digitization. While we are becoming less socially active and facing health issues, the life of workers has become easier due to flexibility and in order to learn something new which is more advantageous.