Advantages and disadvantages of television

The invention of television is undoubtedly one of humankind’s greatest inventions. It is a way of communication among people of one country and different countries and nations. People watch TV to find out about the latest news, weather, sports, etc. It is a great way to learn new and extend one’s range of interests. Scientists say that children spend the same number of hours in front of TV as they do in school. I think that this can be said about many grown people too. Children can find out many new things and make many exiting discoveries for themselves. In addition to these practical benefits televisions improves children’s vocabulary, their memory and gives them the opportunity to gain more knowledge. someone can say that there are plenty of different recourses of information such as books and teachers. But, I think, in our modern world children must learn faster and use all contemporary technology in order to succeed Secondly, television is a great means of eliminating stress and tension. One can relax and leave one’s troubles behind lying on one’s favorite sofa and watching a comedy. However, some people believe that television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Personally, I do not agree with this statement. A couple centuries ago people spent their time gambling, reading, gossiping or playing chess. I do not think that television is a cause of destroyed communication among family members and friends. First of all, if members of a family have common interests and they want to make each other happy they will always find many ways to spend their time together and be close. Otherwise, if people avoid each other and they do not have anything to share with each other they will find television a great way to escape from this miserable existence. I believe that many people chose family and their friends over some soap operas or a movie. Second of all, I think that television can be a great resource of subjects to discuss. Many people watch different educational programs to find out more about their environment, nature, wild life animals, economic situations, etc. So, when they gather with their friends, they discuss important issues and argue with each other in looking for the truth. Elders often watch the news channel to keep abreast of the latest news. Children like to watch a TV show "the funniest animals". We like this program because it makes us laugh. I cannot imagine how these programs can prevent our communication and be harmful to our relations. We can conclude that the progress of science and technology has both positive and negative effects. What we must do is to make sure that the positive ones are encouraged and the negative ones are eliminated as far as possible. Among other things, this means that students are warned not to let computers and calculators do all their work for them