Tourism is emerging as a significant source of revenue for many countries but its disadvantages can not be overlooked. How far

The travel industry is getting bigger day by day and now tourism plays a vital role in earning an income in a number of countries. However, its demerits cannot be ignored. The first and perhaps the most convincing explanation to support this view would be that tourism has adverse effects on the environment. Despite the possibility that the fund provided by tourists can be used for the benefit of preserving the environment, travel threatens natural resources. For instance, pollution became a concerning issue. Sightseers utilize various types of transport while traveling, and it greatly contributes to contamination. Flying in a plane produces a concerning amount of carbon dioxide, and the place is the most preferable kind of transport among the tourists. Not to mention the fact that air pollution has a negative impact on the health of residents of Earth, as it develops lung diseases such as asthma and bronchiole. Another logical reason to support this opinion would be that tourism leads to the commercialization of culture. Therefore, culture will not get the appreciation and respect it deserves. It might adversely affect the local people. On the other hand, tourism is the primary way of surviving for numerous nations. As it is one of the most profitable industries in the modern world. Besides, it provides people with employment and gives local people business opportunities. To give an idea, hotels, restaurants and other entertainment facilities are the products of this opportunity. It can be concluded that tourism has remarkable merits, however long-lasting disadvantages of it can not be left disregarded.