ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF SKY TRAINS

Some people favour building sky trains as a considerable choice to solve traffic problems in cities over building ground railways or underground tubes. Nevertheless, this transportation method also has several advantages as well as disadvantages in terms of the ability to ease traffic congestion. On the one hand, there are numerous benefits of operating sky trains. Originally, overhead rail lines occupy minimal land. They do not necessitate much land space except the required areas to construct tube stations and pillars. Therefore, they leave adequate space for building up various new projects or other forms of ground transport to decrease traffic blockage during rush hour. Another favourable impression being well worth mentioning of sky trains is the high velocity. With fast movement speed, those can take significantly less time than personal vehicles or ground trains to reach one destination to another. According to WORLD BANK BLOGS, a variety of residents in Bangkok, Thailand considered that the elevated mass transit system was an example of good infrastructure and services Thailand demands. Getting somewhere in a heartbeat was no longer a luxury compared to days of yore when unless they possessed a private helicopter. It took some just a few minutes to get to their office from apartments. Before the sky trains came along, the very same journey had taken about half an hour. Thus, they save commuting time and at the same time reduce traffic. On the other hand, we cannot ignore a few negative aspects of the form of transportation by sky trains. It is quite evident that contractors or governments have to spend the humongous expense erecting the pillars and designing overhead tubes. If there is any shortcoming during the construction process and usage, it will cost a comparatively large amount of the budget for innovation. Because of this major reason, sky trains are not in the priority list of most governments. Safety concerns are the second justification for whom to pick out the sky rail commute options. Since the tubes move on narrow concrete paths, it is considered an extremely unsafe mode of conveyance. In addition to these risk factors, emergency evacuation is not always possible in the event of a mishap. In conclusion, this essay has analysed the pros and cons of utilising sky trains to solve the congestion in cities. It is obvious that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks in certain respects and sky trains are an effective solution rather than surface or the subterranean mass transit systems.