advantage of using social websites by teenagers

An upsurge in use of social networking sites by teenagers is a popular phenomenon and closely associated with cutting-edge of life. This reality entails some negative impacts in the long term. In this essay, I would mention several effects that occurred from this critical issue. Firstly, the use of social networks by teenagers can be both time-consuming and addictive. An addict to social networking sites may waste time on unproductive activities rather than doing something meaningful, as a result, work productivity was hampered. To illustrate, distracting teenagers from their studies may result in poor academic performance at school. Secondly, teenagers can lose social and interpersonal skills because of a lack of real-life emotional connection. Today’s teenagers may have communication problems due to social websites because they aren’t “experimenting, trying out skills, and succeeding and failing in tons of real-time experiences that teenagers are missing out on. ” For instance, teenagers are used to communicating with each other via social networks, thereby finding difficulty in face-to-face relationships. Finally, teenagers' personal information can be stolen, and they may be threatened online as a result. If teenagers spend more time on social networking sites, hackers will have an easier time finding their personal information through various methods. Thus, teenagers may be harassed or even become a victim of crimes such as kidnapping or blackmail as a result of your actions. From my point of view, social networking sites have various negative impacts. However, it is also beneficial if we understand how to use it properly.