According to some people, every activity that children pursue in their leisure time should have some educational value.

According to some people, every activity that children pursue in their leisure time should have some educational value. They believe that activities that do not teach anything are useless. I fully disagree with this view. This essay discusses how recreational activities helps in shaping a child’s personality and then how activities like sports helps in their overall development. Improving a child’s personality is very crucial because they must learn to mingle with people and interact with the society. Activities like going to cinema or hanging out with their close friends would greatly favour this outcome. In addition, the child learns to becomes independent whenever he/she faces a difficult situation in life. To illustrate this, a study conducted by Oxford University showed that 50% of children who spent more time in leisure activities become much better in problem solving capabilities and face-to-face interactions. Secondly, a genuine recreation like sports can boost overall fitness and also helps relieve stress. For instance, a survey conducted in Delhi showed that kids who spent less time dedicated to sports has a higher possibility of depression, anxiety and attention-related issues. Sports are also capable of reducing the risk of many diseases and boosting the immune system because it enhances your physical fitness. On top of this, a number of child psychologists recommend spending time in authentic free time activities because it was shown to develop the child’s interest in studies. In conclusion, it seems clear that leisure activities are very significant to a child as it helps in their overall personality and teaches them to not be dependent on others and overcome any hard situations in life. On top of that, activities like sports are shown to improve not only the child’s physical well being but also their psychological well being too. In my opinion, recreational activities are very valuable and not at a waste of time as some of the general publics are led to believe.