According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations Donations to international aid groups increased th

Grounding on the poll of 200 charitable organizations and the economic indicators, supposing that there is a decrease in donations for educational field, and then synthesizing the hypothesis that people tends to donate less to educational institutions even if they get higher income, the author accordingly suggests that people put less emphasis on education than before. Citing the poll conducted among 200 different charitable organizations, the author noticed a decrease in the donation to the educational ones. Comparing to the increase in donation of the other fields, the author thus assumes that people take education less seriously. However, the argument did not provide the information of how the poll was conducted, who responded to the poll and why these 200 organizations were chose. Perhaps there are another 200 educational charitable organizations not involved in this poll which actually showed an increased donation. Or maybe last year, the society was confronted an environmental crisis and thus draw the attention of the public to donate. There is also a good chance that other countries encounter natural disasters or suffer from endemic disease, and therefore result in shortages of resources which require helps from international aid groups. Since we only know the percentages instead of hard numbers, it is possible that the real amount of the educational donation actually surpass the amount of others. The author should rule out the above possibilities to make the statement more convincing. Moreover, the author’s though is that higher incomes will translate into more donations. This may well be, but what if people just want to spend their increased earning on recreational activities as a reward of hard working? People’s habits of making donation should be set forth before establishing this causal relationship. Otherwise, the increased income is not a reliable prognostic factor at all. In addition, an economic indicator of a single year cannot be representative of the overall income status of the people. What if people in fact work hard to make ends meet in the other years? A rare wage increase and a decrease in the donation in education may simply be a coincidence. The author fails to justifiably conclude that people place less importance on education is the cause of lower educational donation. In sum, drawing a conclusion that people place less value on education based on several unwarranted assumptions seems to be unpersuasive as it stands.