A scanning polarization LiDAR

Urmia Lake (UL) in the northwest of Iran is a salt-saturated lake. In September 2018, a station equipped with LiDAR was installed next to the UL. A scanning polarization LiDAR was used to study suspended particles in the UL atmosphere. IASBS Scanning Polarization LiDAR, ISPL located on the west coast of UL. Measurement at ISPL station started (ended) in October 2018 (November 2020). At this time, 55 (133) days were recorded at horizontal scanning (zenith direction). Measurement of horizontal scanning was done in mild weather. When there is temperature reduction, strong winds, and rain, it is not possible. Data resolution was better during the nighttime than during the daytime. Horizontal scanning from the UL atmosphere shows particles with a 10% until 20% volume depolarization ratio (VDR) were in the atmosphere in October 2018. VDR of these particles is extremely close to dry salt particles' depolarization ratio. Particles with this feature were observed at low altitudes (near to the ground) with short lifetimes. Surface wind speed and direction are a critical reason for the displacement of them. When the season of raining start, these particles did not exist in the atmosphere. Atmospheric humidity affects the particle depolarization ratio. In the zenith direction, data recording was performed in various weather conditions. Measurement on cold days (in 2018 and 2019) shows the lake atmosphere is less affected by the UL dry bed. Particles with 10-20% VDR were observed at the lowest altitude of 2 km, with a short lifetime. Measurement in the zenith direction in the summer of 2020 shows particles with ∼15% VDR observed at upper altitude (2-4 km). The back trajectory of a number of them was from local sources (UL dry bed and lands around it). During the summer, the UL dry the bed can be a local source of atmospheric particles. Salt particles, scanning polarization LiDAR, Urmia Lake.