2. These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

There has been a dramatic change in family role patterns in the recent century. The stereotype of the father as breadwinner is no longer valid since there is a transformation to dual-income family and in more recent years we witness home-staying fathers. There are some reasons for this new family pattern which I believe has its own perk. Perhaps the major factor here is the fact that in some families mother’s income is higher than of the father’s and since parents are eager to take care of their children by themselves it is more rational that parent with lower income give up on his job and take care of the children. However, there is not always a voluntarily choice in this matter, sometimes due to financial crisis fathers lose their job and due to the lack of job opportunities, they have to stay home. Although there has been a strong father as breadwinner role for hundreds of years, we can not say the opposite of this view is a bad idea. The root of such a role goes back to the ancient time when the outside world was highly dangerous so males go hunting and such hard activities to provide food while females take care of children against that dangerous world. As societies develop and be modernized those reasons are no longer exist. Moreover, women have shown an equal ability to men for supporting families in the financial aspect. In conclusion, due to social and vocational developments, women can take the breadwinner role to support their families while men take the role of child and home caring. Given these facts, in my opinion, it is a positive attitude that determining the role of each parent should not be based on the old tradition, in fact it must be based on the ability and skills of each gender to accept each role.