2. Some believe that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together, while others claim that holding the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues.

There is a strong belief that the Olympic games are beneficial to various countries and their relationship with others. However, many people consider that the money spent on the Olympics is unnecessary. In this essay, I will investigate both point of views and express my thinking. On the one hand, participating lands come together once every four years to celebrate and congratulate one another. To further elaborate, the Olympic competitions allow hosting countries to showcase not only their golden talents, but also the beauty of their diverse cultures. For instance, the 2016 Olympic games celebrated in Rio had brought a wave of foreign tourists to visit Brazil and further uniting nations. Thus, if more tourists travel to the country for the Olympics, the world will become more aware of diverse cultures. On the other hand, such world-wide events often cost an enormous sum of money for all nations involved. Not only will the spending of the host destination be wasted on preparation, but other participating communities will also suffer from the lost in economy. Instead, these resources could’ve been used to improve serious global problems. For example, the 2020 Olympics cancellation had strongly affected Japan as the amount used on renovations could’ve been used to limit the pandemic. Understandably, why should we devote our resources to such unimportant event? In conclusion, although the argument for continuing the Olympics is strong and relevant, I believe that it is in fact a waste of resources as there are more important worries right now. Around the world, people should come together to celebrate diversity by helping one another through difficulties.