with an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging , face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree?

It is an increasing trend that people are changing the ways of communication due to the emerge of technologies. While some people argue that in-person interactions will become less used, I still believe the importance of the existence of face-to-face communications. On the one hand, many people argue that communicating in person should not be the most convenient way in recent times. This is because face-to-face interactions will require people to consider some mandatory factors, such as proper time schedules and suitable locations. For example, it is really tough for ambassadors who live and work in different countries to arrange a suitable time and place for family gathering. In contrast, if foreign workers can utilize the internet and text messages, there will be fewer time and location related limitations for them to contact family members. On the other hand, in my view that we should emphasize the necessity and importance of in-person interactions in society. The reason for this is that many countries still have a large number of elderly residents who are not keeping the pace with the emerged usages of the internet. For instance, a recent population survey in Japan illustrates that more than twenty percent of senior Japanese citizens do not know how to operate cellphones. Therefore, face-to-face communications are more convenient to the old generations. Nevertheless, if we force the elderly to adapt virtual communications, it will shoulder them much pressure as the seniors need to learn how to utilize new technologies. In conclusion, comparing to internet and text interactions, we should admit that face-to-face communication is not the most convenient platform. However, we should also take the positive impacts of in-person communications on senior citizens into considerations.