Why Public health Career is right for you?

“Prevention is better than cure” School: During my childhood, I used to have this weird fetish of wearing white gloves and trying to dissect clay moulds and roaming here and there around the house. I always wanted to be a doctor especially cardiothoracic surgeon/ heart specialist, I realized this particular field because there was this chapter on the Heart and its Functions in my 10th Grade Board Exam, I was really fascinated by the functionality of the how the heart plays the vital role to keep our body alive and functioning properly at all times. That time heart strokes/ attacks were not so common, but nowadays its is linked to one of the highest deaths causing disease. During my schooling days, I was really a distracted child which means that lack of attention, unable to focus on my studies, etc. One day, my teachers from school called up my parents and said that your child has learning disability and attention disorder. Also, I was a neglected child in the classroom due to irrational fear and lack of confidence, unable to perform well in the class, taken for granted etc. I couldn’t understand the concepts about how should one study, why should one study, what can you do once you are well educated, and so on. Little did know what it takes to taste the success and overcome your fears until the moment when you realize that success can be only achieved through hard work, dedication, determination and will to succeed. I scored distinction in my 10th Boards and teachers of my school did not expect it from me at all. I proved them wrong. College: In my college days, I tried to overcome my irrational fears and I started getting out of my comfort zone, exploring different opportunities, taking up new things and learning from them, participating in college fests, etc and it felt really very good. I had taken Science Stream so that I could pursue my dream of becoming a doctor. I still have a very strong bonding with my college professors. I appeared for National Eligibility Cum Entrance test for Medical Graduate studies, unfortunately I could not make it up to the cut off required to qualify. At the same time, my private class teachers duped us by leaving me just 4 months away before the final 12th grade boards exam. Also, our family faced a huge financial turmoil, leaving us to the stage of just mere survival. My Parents always used to say that we have money for educational purposes and for family’s wellbeing only and not for unnecessary things. I had taken French language during my college days, because it always seemed something new to learn and to be different in some way. Over a period of time, I started loving French Language so much that I got the 85 marks in my 12th Board Exam, even though I didn’t have any background in my schooling days. Since I was passionate about French Language, my father asked to me to enrol into the French Language Learning Course at Alliance Francaise de Bombay Graduation: Since I could not qualify to medical graduate studies, I had to shift to Arts Program for my undergraduate studies. At this point, Since I was learning French Language and Managing studies because it was a bit difficult to bridge the gap between Science Stream and Arts Stream, it took me a while to cover up the transition gap I faced a lot of challenges in my first and Second year of my graduate studies as I was trying to get more exposure in the outer world by enrolling myself into various college departments such as UNESCO Inter Religious Department, wherein I was a part of the core team and we had successfully delivered the International symposium twice. Volunteered in college annual fests. I tried to put a proposal to start a Language Exchange Department in college, so that people will get to know the importance of learning languages in the market, what opportunities one might be able to grab on, scope to go on exchanges and experience the different cultures. Unfortunately, due to lack of funding opportunities in college to support this initiative was not considered. But I will not give up, I know for sure, I will be bringing this idea into existence in the near future. I participated in in seminars took up extra courses offered by college i. e. Gender Studies, Leadership Course. Learning outcome from these courses were, we all are in the same situation where we all are trying to make this world a better place and to bring a positive change about it. There was point where my decision was later proved to be right in the future was that I had 2 options of whether choosing Economics or Sociology