why hobbies are less common than they used to be

Hobbies are not as common as they used to be in the past, and only few dedicate time for hobbies these days. The main reason for this, in my opinion, is how expensive it became to start and maintain a hobby. As a result, it is more difficult now for people to find a community with similar interests and create friendships through that community. Most people hesitate to start a hobby as it can be expensive. Almost all hobbies require special gear and equipment that can come at high prices, and may require buying a lot of materials to maintain. Fishing is a good example, it is a hobby that many find relaxing and rewarding, but to practicing it requires a fishing rode, lure, and somtimes a boat or a fishing license in some regions, which can add up quickily to thousands of dollars. The effects of hobbies becoming less common can be easily observed on the social domain. Most people have limited social contacts to relatives and colleagues, and may struggle find people with common interests outside these circles. Hobbies connect people with similar interests and create a sense of community which in turn makes it easier to socialize and to from friendships. For example, my parents knew most of their friends through meetings for their own hobbies, and many of these friendships lasted long after. In conclusion, I think the expense of starting and maintaing most hobbies made it not unpractical for most people over the years. This in turn made it harder to socilize and create friendships for most people.