We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a. m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a. m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a. m. until 4 p. m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying f

The owner of the cafe provide a strategy to save money and remain on the business. While he assume that this is the best strategy, his argument is weak, and rife with holes. The owner didn't provide a strong prove for his results. There is no prove that reducing these hours which he suggest will save money. The sales might be higher, and expenses might be less during the hours that he is willing to eliminate. People mainly buy coffee or drink in their way to work, and tend to spend more time out during weekend nights. Also, operation expenses might be less during these hours. Meanwhile, he could strengthen his statement by providing a statical analysis of sales and expenses during hours and days of the business operation. This analysis will provide a righteous result of which hours of operation reveal more profits for the business. Furthermore, reducing hours of operation might not be the best answer to save money. Business success lay on different reasons, business location, the quantity and the quality of products the business provide. So, the owner would achieve better results if he build his conclusion on comprehensive business analysis to find the real causes of his business loss. He might find that the business location is the problem, or he need to improve his products quality to achieve more practical results. At the end, while the business owner argument is persuasive, reducing hours of operation may save him money. But further assessment should be carried out to achieve long term success for his business.