Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Nowadays, water pollution is a planet-scale issue, which undermines the whole ecosystem of the earth. This essay highlights the most significant reasons for it and suggests a few solutions to contend the problem. It is indisputable that industrial releases, agriculture sector by-products, and domestic waste are the core constituents of water pollution both in the ocean and freshwater bodies. For instance, plants and factories located near aquatic zones discharge their poisonous by-products into water. Besides, oil companies are responsible for frequent oil leaks caused by rather frequent accidents. Chemical fertilizers used in agriculture penetrate water bodies through artificial canals as harmful materials. Also, domestic waste, mostly represented by indecomposable plastic products, formed enormous floating islands in the ocean. Obviously, the situation is going to worsen if appropriate measures are not taken. Regrettably, there are no miraculous means of preventing and solving this issue, and the suggested solutions are trivial. Firstly, governments should put more effort into research in this sphere. Secondly, authorities must issue stricter regulations and ensure compliance with them to limit industrial and domestic waste products. Additionally, as more than half the water pollution is caused by the energy sector, humanity should develop environmentally-friendly and “clean” energy technologies. Therefore, it is reasonable to focus on non-traditional energy sources such as solar radiation, geothermal springs and wind power. Overall, water contamination has actually become a global problem threatening the whole planet. Therefore, all countries should cooperate in order to contend the issue and diminish its impact on the environment.