In many countries smoking in now illegal in public places.

Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, hospitals, public transport and restaurants in many nations. This essay agrees with this initiative because it reduces the harmful effects of passive smoking and also encourages smokers to quit. The primary reason why making it illegal to smoke in public makes sense is preventing people from having to breathe in second-hand smoke. Passive smoking can lead to many smoking-related diseases such as lung cancer, heart disease and stroke. The British Medical Association found that non-smokers who were regularly exposed to tobacco smoke were 4 times more likely to develop lung cancer, than those who did not have to breathe it in. Despite this, many smoking activists would say that if people are afraid of getting a disease from smoking, they should not go to places like bars, where lots of people enjoy smoking. The second main reason is that it helps those addicted to cigarettes quit their habit. When smokers and non-smokers socialise together, the smokers are often ostracised from the group because they have to leave the company of everyone else if they want to light up. This has proven particularly effective in Ireland, the first country to introduce a nationwide ban, where people have to leave a bar or restaurant and smoke outside. However, nicotine addiction is one of the most difficult to quit and a ban should be combined with other measures to help addicts to stop. In conclusion, making it against the law to smoke around strangers should be encouraged because it prevents innocent people from dying of passive smoking and reduces the amount of smokers