University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages? The trend of university students studying in other countries as part of their education is increasing. whilst acknowledging that studying abroad can very costly and culturally challenging, the opportunity of having a degree from a foreign university can open a lot of doors to a student in his/her future career. In my opinion, the advantages of graduating in a foreign university still outweighs the disadvantages. Concerning the many advantages of studying abroad, the main benefit is having the opportunity to earn a foreign degree which can help the student in her professional career once he/she goes back to her home country. The chance of studying abroad can be a privileged for some students who live in third world country like the Philippines. As such not all Filipinos parents have the capabilities to send their children abroad to study. Although there are many reputable universities in the Philippines, it would still be more enticing for companies to learn that you have a degree outside the country which means that you also have an advanced knowledge in the industry you want to be part of. On the other hand, the main drawbacks of studying abroad would be the high-cost of education for its foreign students and the cultural differences that the student might encounter. Tuition fees in local universities are less expensive than in foreign countries. In addition, the different cultural background can be surprising for a student who is not exposed to different nationalities. Hence, the study can be a struggle financially and the adaptability may not be easy. In conclusion, more and more students who wants to earn their degree in a foreign country is increasing. While it can be financially and culturally challenging, those can be easily overcome. Ultimately, more opportunities and doors will be open for students once they graduate and go to the real world. Therefore, studying abroad can be more advantageous and has further positive impact in one’s career than disadvantageous.