Today’s fast paced lifestyle has ushered in an age where people do not have enough time to cook or to have a sit down meal.

Today’s fast paced lifestyle has ushered in an age where people do not have enough time to cook or to have a sit down meal. Nowadays, people tend to depend on eateries and fast food outlets which offer unhealthy food. These meals seems to be rather popular amongst youngsters and adult alike owing to their better taste. But little do people realise that these taste enhanced food are making them seriously ill. Meals served by fast food outlets tend to be high in fat like fries, burgers, pizzas, etc. Frozen and processed meat and fish are used in preparing these dishes. Many often than not, people like to finish off their meal with a sugar laden smoothie or with a high calorie soft drink. All of these ingredients are directly linked to obesity and proven to be the precursor of many diseases like diabetes and cancer. There has been many scientific studies done over a longer period of time on larger population which indisputably proves the ill effects of consuming food with high fat and sugar. Thankfully both public and government seem to be taking note of the results of these research. While some folks have taken steps to limit these unhealthy food, the larger section of population is continuing to consume an unhealthy diet. Considering this, in my opinion its necessary that government take stricter measures to stall this habit. A fat tax, that is, levying a additional amount of money for food items which are high in fat or calories is a good start to make people take notice of their eating habits.