Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages of this?

Over the last few years, there has been a surge in the number of people exploring undiscovered places. Tourists have been going to places with hostile conditions like deserts, mountains etc. Though these attractions can be thrilling but at the same time can be dangerous. Travelling to spots with extreme conditions have a lot of advantages. Tourists are the main source of income for the economically weak countries. These visitors help in the development of the place by bringing in job opportunities. To illustrate, local people earn their livelihood by selling products to foreigners at a higher price. In addition, to attract more tourists, government invests in infrastructure which indirectly uplifts the standard of living of the locals. Thus, such expeditions play a vital role in the betterment of the country. Contrary to the aforesaid, rise in tourism at such places can be a threat to the existing community. Since the resources are scarce at these places, sharing them with outsiders leads to a problematic situation. For example, providing foreigners with scarce water in deserts or with food in the Antarctic can worsen the situation and be a challenge for the people. Also, poor health facilities in places with difficult conditions is a point of concern. If fallen sick, tourists might not get proper medical benefits. To conclude, the advantages of exploring places with adverse conditions outweigh the disadvantages. Not only do the locals and the country benefit economically from the people visiting their place but also, their standard of living is raised. Moreover, globalization can prove to be helpful in overcoming the shortage of resources and other facilities.