Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Since the development of tourism, English has become the most popular language in the world. As a result, it is often thought by some people that English will eventually become the only language to be spoken the world over. Although there are several adavantages to having one language in the world like clear communication and decreased discrimination, the disadvantages should also be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of having one language is that the communication between individuals of all nations will be clear and seamless. This removes the language barrier that people face when traveling to a region where a different language is spoken. For example, my mom’s eldest sister who is a naturalized US citizen has difficulty living in the US due to language barrier. Secondly, discriminations based on the language spoken will be nonexistent if everyone is speaking the same language. This can be supported by a recent incident in the US where a lawyer was recorded shouting at a fast food casher for speaking in Spanish to another customer. On the other hand, one negative aspect when there is only one language is that several communities and nations will lose there unique cultural and linguistic identity. People take pride in their own language, and having only one language means people will be deprived of this experience. Another drawback is that this may directly affect several people’s lives. Learning other languages is not just a passion or hobby but a career opportunity for some. Hence, this may lead to decreased employment, and can affect a country’s economy. In conclusion, while there are benefits of having one single language in the world, they should always be weighed against downsides like loss of cultural and linguistic identity and loss of jobs