These days, people enjoy a great deal more mobility than they used to in the past. This includes changing jobs and living environment, and is a mostly positive trend, despite a few disadvantages

There are certainly advantages of career changes. In the past, people were often tied to a certain job, but that was not always the most appropriate one, especially in the long term, and people sometimes find their true calling later in life. Employment conditions also trigger changes, such as with the decline in New Zealandia manufacturing. In this case workers need to retrain in another sector of the economy. Moving house or place of residence can have advantages. Going overseas for work means a new career opportunity or promotion and the chance to broaden one's horizons in a new country and culture. In addition, moving to a new area offers the exciting possibility of new neighbors and living environment, with better amenities. On the other hand, there may be some disadvantages to changes in career or place of residence. Moves of any kind can be uncomfortable, especially for people who value continuity and stability. This is particularly so if the change has been forced, as with a job redundancy. Changes may be also negative for accompanying children and families, necessitating new schools and friendship circles. In conclusion, while changes in work and living environment are mostly positive, there are some disadvantages as well. Nevertheless, this is a trend that will continue to prevail into the future.