The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

-Nowadays, obesity in children is becoming a significant area of concern. The upsurge in percentage of overweight children in western society is detrimental to oneself as well as for the community. Furthermore, there are various causes associated with overweight. Firstly, the most vital cause is advanced technology. Although this enhanced technology is beneficial for society, children are misusing it. For instance, children play a lot of games and watch futile videos on mobiles and laptops for a long durations which directly lowers the physical activities making them sedentary and fatty. Secondly, changes in lifestyle and food habits are another important cause of this situation. Overeating, high intake of junk food and beverages, exposure to high-calorie, disliking healthy food are some examples that lead to weight gain in the early stage of a child's life making them dull and inactive. Moreover, the effect of these problems are huge and can be devastating if not abated as soon as possible. Effects can be suffering from various health hazards like cardiovascular disorders, increased cholesterol level, insomnia, mental trauma, etc. Besides, many children have to face body-shaming comments which not only makes them feel discomfort but also leaves an negative impact on their mentality. These kinds of children might become unamicable and timid. Sometimes, they feel highly disgraceful in involving themselves in social activities. Indeed, these situations spoil their childhood memories which if not taken care on right time makes them an incorrigible person. In a nutshell, the causes and their effects of the aforementioned issue if not conquered in the beginning, it will worsen the condition later for which everyone has to bear the brunt of the cut.