The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Online shopping has become an integral part of our society. While some people believe that online shopping would dominate the future market and completely replace the shops in towns and cities, I think that online and offline shopping would coexist. This essay would explain why physical shopping in towns and cities is essential and irreplaceable. There are many advantages of shopping in towns and cities, and an important one is that, unlike online shopping, shopping with friends and family in a mall is considered a leisure and relaxation activity. It is because the shopping experience you get in showrooms/ shops is priceless and it becomes more worth when your close friends or relatives with common interest accompanies you. For example, generally, on weekends, one of my favourite weekend getaways is to shop for electronic gadgets and dine in a nearby mall with my friends to curb the boredom in my day to day life. In contrast to this, online shopping is advantageous during busy days as it can save a lot of time and effort. Moreover, another vital point to consider is that items like clothes, shoes, sports fittings, personal protective equipment, Etc. , are difficult to buy online. As these items' choice hugely depends on proper fitting and even same sizes from different brands may fit differently. For instance, last year, I ordered a leather shoe from a particular brand online, which I had to cancel eventually after five swaps for different models and sizes as none of them fit me perfectly, and due to this, I ultimately wasted more time and effort as compared to procuring it from a shop in my city. Nevertheless, some items like mobile phones, computers etc. are preferred to be purchased online, as these channels give huge discounts and offer a vast majority of choices compared to a local shop. To sum up, online shopping is a preferred option during busy days, and for some items but it is not practical for the things which require proper fitting, and on top of that the experience of visiting the physical shops is invaluable, so the shops in towns and cities would always coexist with online shopping.