The following appeared in a report of the Committee on Faculty Promotions and Salaries at Elm City University. " During her seventeen years as a professor of botany, Professor Thomas has proved herself to be well worth her annual salary of $50, 000. Her cla

The author contents that by providing Professor Thomas a $10, 000 raise and a promotion to Department Chairperson Elm City University will be able to retain her in their college. This is being said as the author believes she has proved herself to be well worth her annual salary by her contribution. Although, the argument seems coherent, however, upon scrutiny, one can fathom that it is based on faulty premises and assumption. The most glaring fallacy in this argument is that the author assumes that Professor Thomas will leave Elm City University for another college. This may not be true as there are multiple reason an individual takes into consideration when they decide where do they want to work at. There is a huge possibility that Professor Thomas is highly satisfied with the work and culture of Elm City University due to which she wants to always work there. Also there may be a possibility that Elm City University offers her a perfect work life balance due to which she wants to always work there. Hence, the author has rushed to the conclusion before completely analyzing the intent of the Professor. Even if there is a possibility that Professor Thomas will leave Elm City University for another college, there is no evidence to support author’s contention that; a $10, 000 raise and a promotion to Department Chairperson will help to retain her. There might be other reason due to which she might want to change the college. It may happen she doesnot like the culture of the college or she wants to move to a different city owing to personal reasons due to which she wants to leave the university. Hence, the author assumption that a raise and a promotion will help to retain her is based on completely fallacious and incomplete reasoning. Besides this, the author belief that her popularity is evident from the size of her classroom which is largest at the university is also questionable. Its so because her huge class size can be due to the fact that she is very strict and the students attend the classes fearing her wrath. Also, the other reason can be that her subject is one of the foundational courses due to which maximum students enroll themselves in it. Hence, this invalidates the whole argument. Evidently, the author has not thoroughly analyzed the situation before providing the conclusion. Instead of assuming that she may leave the college the author should gather evidence whether this will happen or not. In case there is a possibility, author should carefully analyze reasons why she may leave and try to recommend the solution which caters to that reason. Therefore the author needs to reconstruct the argument, fix the flaws in his logic and provide strong reasoning in order to validate his contention. Without these changes the author’s argument that a raise and a promotion to will help retain professor Thomas will remain questionable, extremely ill constructed and thus unconvincing