that it is always right for governments to ask people to move their businesses and houses to provide space for the construction of large structures new roads new dams etc

This is a pretty controversial question. Sometimes it's the only proper choice for government with no alternatives. However, some families can get down in the dumps while losing their dwellings, covered with memories and history. To my mind, it's not right to force people change their place of living. Nevertheless, if there is no choice, equal exchange should be provided. First and foremost, in my consideration, your place of living is connected with a chunk of memories, which could be important and extremely valuable. Your entire childhood can be spend in that house, which you would like to visit every now and then and spend time with your parents, searching your memory for cheerful and pleasant moments, spent within the territory of the building. For some families, an edifice can contain a lot of history. In some cases, houses have been kept for centuries, going from one dynasty to another. Therefore, forcing people to permanently wipe out such an important part of their lives is unacceptable. Secondly, if we take a look on the situation from the economical aspect, not always people receive similar conditions compared to those they have lost. In a great deal of cases, a one-family house can be exchanged to a flat, which is not equal. I am convinced that people won't have a lot to choose from, and the proposals will be worse than their former place of living. Another variant could be an exchange for money. However, due to the constant inflation, the price of your house most surely declined, and it will be impossible to buy the same dwelling for earned amount of money. Thereby, people can have tough times in their lives, if they don't receive financial help from the government or building company. To sum up, I consider the idea of replacing history and a bunch of memories with new constructions as a one that should be forgotten. Of course, the circumstances can leave people without a choice, but if there is a possibility of relocating the new object, it should be done in first place.