television has positive effect on our society

Many people believe that television is a blessing because it provides amusements to it's fans. However, others think that television is a curse, wasting people's time. In my opinion, watching television has many drawbacks and it is better to limit it's usage. Television is a main cause of obesity, distraction, and lack of exercise First, television does not promote healthy life style. Many people spend so much time watching television which causes them to eat more, drink more, and become lazy. Eventually, This sedentary life style would result and an increase in body weight. Obesity is a major cause of many diseases which include diabetes, hypertension, and heart diseases. The longer hours we spend watching television, the more we are prone to such diseases. Moreover, watching television makes the children sleep late. a common saying" sleep early and wake up early, astonishingly, you health will improve" . Moreover, watching television for a long time has a bad effect on vision. Many people experience deterioration in vision after a standing long hours behind the television. Secondly. although watching television may provide some amusement, it is also a reason to postpone many of daily activities, thus make us procrastinate. Procrastination is the tendency to delay doing things that are a necessity. For instance, in many occasions, I had to delay going to jog in order not to miss a program that I watch on the television. Exercising is very crucial for a person a health. Without exercise the brain, the body, and organs cannot function properly. Therefore, spending so much time watching television is a waist of time. Thirdly, watching television does not encourage students to learn. After school, Students have home works and many parents find difficulties in preventing their children from watching television. For example, my son had a math exam last Friday, and he lost focus as he wanted to watch a football game that was being broadcast-ed between Manchester united and Liverpool. Thus he was not able concentration on his exam. Finally, although watching television provides some amusements, it may hinder a person for practicing his or her hobbies. For example, many people like to play music or sports, or even read a book. Unfortunately, without knowing, a person feels drifted away from doing his favorite hobby. For example, my daughter plays the piano, and every time she sits to watch television, she refrain from practicing. Therefore, I strongly, discourage her from wasting her time. In Conclusion, Watching television may make people happy. However, it is a double-edge sword since it promotes unhealthy life style, and hinder people from practicing their favorite hobby