Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. with this idea? Explain it by giving specific examples.

It has debated that television advertising directed towards children should not be allowed by scientist. While some experts claim that it is harmful for children, others say that is has some advantages on children. Though both sides have pros and cons, I am in the opinion that television advertising toward children should be banned for several social, health related and entertainment based reasons. I will explain them with some specific examples in the following paragraphs. Firstly, watching advertisement has some negative social effects on children. The children who watch the television advertisements lost their interactions with their families or peers. This lack of socializing can cause a drop in the children’s school success. A research made in Sweden shows that children spend more time in front of television lost their contact abilities, whereas their peers who do not watch television advertisement have more interaction capacity. Besides, television advertisements offer dangerous products to children. If they see them so much, they want to buy them, and it can cause to have useless or harmful habits for children. Furthermore, television advertisements create health based effects on children. Not only children’s eyes can be effected badly, their capacity of intelligence can also decrease. An American research show us Otism in children is related to watching advertisements. Also, television advertisements generally offers to children unhealthy foods such as candies or fast foods. If children see them on televisions, they want to buy them. So their health can be effected negatively. Moreover, opponents of television advertising towards young children point outs that they are enjoyable activities for children. They claim that children can enjoy to watch colorful and dynamic advertisements. However, I am totally disagree with these ideas. Because the nature of children aged two to five requires being active, but watching television advertisement is completely passive activity. Thus, they can not enjoy while they are sitting in an armchair. Watching television advertisement has some social, health related and entertainment based disadvantages for children aged two to five. It causes less interaction with other people and create a desire to harmful products for children. It also effects children’s eyes, intelligence and whole health with dangerous products offered in advertisement. It makes children passive, so they can not enjoy with watching them, too.