Task 2: Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development? (dated: May 4th, 2019)

Nowadays, children in contemporary society play more computer games than sports due to technology advanment and changes in lifestyle. In my perspective, it is a negative development that will bring long-term harm to the children and the society in the future. Children nowadays are raised by digital native parents who are very familiar with computer games. In fact, many of these parents make use of computer games to buy time away from their children. For example, some parents use video games as a reward their children behave well and when the kids are busy with the games, the parents can rest by themselves. Moreover, some parents tent to be overprotective. They would not allow their kids to play outside due to the fear of getting diseases, injuries or illness. There are always children who love sports, either indoor or outdoor, but some parents will not let them play. These parents are against the idea of their kids getting sick because it means they will have to take time off work and spend money to take the kids to the doctor. Overpopulation in megacities also play an important role in this trend. It causes shortages of space that results in children having little space to play sports. This development is negative in many ways. Firstly, there is a rapid increase in overweigh and obese children. The lack of physical activities lead to slow reflec, low stamina and metabolism. Secondly, spending too much time on digital devices takes away children’s time to play with the peers. The lack of social interactions causes lack of social awareness, incapability to communicate in person, and in severe cases it can lead to the lack of empathy. Last but not least, the virtual world can be very dangerous snce people hide behind their digital persona. There have been many reports of missing children, raped and murdered cases committed by people the victims made friends online. Therefore, it is vital to let children play active sport and educate them about all the negativity and positivity of the dogital world.