Sports which depend on violence for their entertainment, such as boxing and wrestling, have no place in a civilized society and should be banned. To what extend would you support or reject this idea?

It is often argued that sports which are based on violence, for example boxing and wrestling, do not belong in a civilized society. The main argument for the previous statement is that violence generates violence, therefore brutal scenes for the purpose of entertainment should be forbidden. I somewhat disagree with this opinion and with the concept of prohibiting these activities. The reason why I think violent sports are not harmful to a society is because they do not encourage violence in real life by themselves. In order for a person to become violent and dangerous to others, there needs to be more than just viewing of aggressive incidents. If that was the case, videogames should be banned and movies which include violent scenes should be prohibited from broadcasting. It is also worth mentioning that psychologists have proposed that watching violent sports helps fans release their own restrained emotions, instead of developing them. It is a way to express built-up anger without the negative effects of violence. Therefore, the problem of violent behavior in society lays on other factors more than it does on sports and exposure to violent content. People who have experienced traumas in the past are likely to be affected by exposures like this. Since there is the possibility of triggering aggressive emotions in some individuals, it is advisable for measures to be taken. First, a limited time of screening per week is the most effective course of action. In addition, family and close friends of sensitive people should advise them against programs with a high level of violence in general. In conclusion, there are plenty of reasons that violent behavior occurs in a society, so aggressive sports should not be forbidden to broadcast. However, other measures must be considered, in order to prevent the possibility of increased violence from the projection of aggressive scenes.