Some young people are watching televisions for long periods of the day. Why do they do this? Give reasons and suggest what should be done to encourage them to live more active lifestyle.

Entertainment technology has undergone a massive overhaul over the past few decades. In the modern world, there has been an accelerating trend of youngsters sitting and spending most of their leisure time watching television. In this essay, I will look at the major reasons for this and propose some comprehensive solutions. Firstly, it is undeniable to say that teenagers are over-burdened with their academic curriculum and they put hard efforts to achieve good scores. It is worth considering that the constant studying results in exhaustion which is why adolescents frequently search for a pleasant distraction to refresh their mind. And, television, undoubtedly, acts as an easily accessible source of entertainment for them. Secondly, the cause of the problem lies in the availability of plethora of satellite channels comprising distinct content which has potential to attract youth with different interests. Being a highly competitive industry, electronic media platforms work efficiently to develop variety of programs to engage people from all walks of life especially young citizens of the society. To overcome the above-mentioned obstacles, first and foremost, schools should incorporate the number of sports such as soccer, hokey, badminton, to name a few, as a part of the core syllabus and must encourage students to participate in them. As a result, this will help pupils learn something exceptional instead of wasting time in front of an idiot box and in addition, will break the monotony of theoretical subjects. Playing outdoors will facilitate cognitive proficiencies thus impact the overall mental and physical growth of the person. Lastly, parents can play a crucial role to tackle this issue. They should educate their offspring the benefits of physical activities and disadvantages of pro-longed screen time. Therefore, they can inspire them to get involved in the recreational courses including yoga, aerobics, and dance. While these activities guarantee the well-being of the children, they effectively rejuvenate the body and mind. For example, the recent study by ‘The World Health Organisation, ’ suggests that children who spend at least 30 minutes doing any form of work out are 40 times less prone to obesity and depression. In conclusion, to avoid excessive use of television by teens, it is vital for schools to emphasize on extra-curriculum activities and parents are equally responsible to persuade their young ones to take part in the fun activities which involves physical training. Hence, this will significantly assist in the proper development of the child.