Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing videogames. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

t is often argued that children should spend more time on outdoor activities than on computer games. I agree with this opinion and I will defend my stand with valid arguments in this essay. To begin with, taking part in outdoor activities enhances children’s physical wellbeing. As a growing number of children follow a sedentary lifestyle, their health conditions are getting worse. However, if children can engage themselves in outdoor activities, they will spend less time in front of screens, which allow them to breath the fresh air and build up a strong immune system. For example, according to a survey conducted by Peking University, after the introduction of the daily outdoor activities to students, the youngsters’ obesity rate has decreased by 20% and fewer of them have vision disorder problem. Hence, it is obvious that being exposed to the fresh air and workout is crucial for children’s health. Furthermore, children can improve their interpersonal skills by joining in outdoor activities. This is to say, instead of playing videogames in front of screens, children have more chances to have face-to-face interactions with their peers when they spend time outdoors. Consequently, children are more likely to communicate with others confidently as well as establish empathy, which are crucial social skills in adult life. Meanwhile, many outdoor activities require teamwork, and this also prepares children for the workplace where they have to cooperate with one another. For instance, a psychological research shows that children who were interested in outdoor activities at an early age tend to grow up into extrovert individuals, with excellent social skills and promising careers. Therefore, it is important for children to spend enough time engaging with peers at outdoor activities. In conclusion, this essay discussed that engaging in outdoor activities can not only improve children’s physical fitness, but also cultivate their social skills. I highly recommend children to spend time with friends in outdoor activities rather than playing videogames.