Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued by most people that travelers should adapt to the different cultures of a place being visited. For me, I partially believe that we need to adapt to the different practices followed by a certain place. I reckon that if the practices do go against someone's religious beliefs then at least proper courtesy should be practiced. When traveling to different countries, it is inevitable that people come across varied cultures and practices. While in their respective territories, it is proper for tourists to adapt to the locals’ way of life. This is a form of respect to the dwellers. An example of these is how one should dress up. Since some cultures are conservative, women are required to cover up themselves before they will be allowed to enter or roam the area. Furthermore, wearing shorts or revealing clothes is prohibited. In this case, it is indeed important to submit to customs which are being followed. On the other hand, adapting a certain culture means changing oneself in order to conform to the practices and customs of the locals. This might be difficult for others to follow if it goes against their religious beliefs. Thus, I reckon that people may not absolutely adapt to certain practices but at least observe a polite behaviour if they believe that adapting to a certain custom is not an option. To sum up, it is absolutely right to show courtesy when visiting a place. This can be done by observing or respecting the customs and practices being followed by a certain community.