Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and teach them about right and wrong. Other people consider that the main responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe environment to grow up in. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Parents have to play several roles for the betterment of their kids. Among these, the two most important are the self-restraint and nurture. I believe that while parents discipline their children to teach them about justice, morals etc. , nurturing them with a safe environment is equally important. Parents must discipline their children because they are volatile, immature and emotional by nature. When in stress, then they can react emotionally, without processing the circumstance. Hence, it is very important that they are taught to think properly and then act according to circumstances. They must learn the importance of justice, high moral, staying positive etc. , to face the future challenges along with enjoying their childhood. For instance, a student can top the mathematics exam by staying positive and disciplined with studies, even after failing it in the foremost attempt. All these lessons will help them to stay safe, recognize good and bad and become respectable and thoughtful members of society. Parents need to nurture their kids. In childhood, they are weak and cannot protect themselves. Therefore, they are dependent on their parents. To grow and develop properly, they need an surroundings, which triggers a feeling of safety in them, so that they can relax their senses and calm their mind. For example, if the parents are abusive and fighting all the time, the child may develop fear of them and act strangely. This environment can only be created with love and care for them. On the contrary, the absence of this kind of habitat might impact the development of their brain. They learn the first teachings of true love and humanity at home. To conclude, a parent must provide a loved and protective environment for the development of its kids. However, I believe it is equally important for a parent to teach the lesson of discipline, justice etc. , to its children, to make them strong and prepare them to stand by the right.