Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Road accidents take the lives of many drivers and pedestrians every year. Some argue that the best way to reduce them is to have severe penalties for offending traffic regulations, while others think other solutions may work better. I think, although such punishments are helpful, other measures should be taken alongside them. On the one hand, careless drivers who ignore the laws play a major role in many car accidents. For example, some use their mobile phones while driving and do not focus on the road, meaning they would definitely not be able to control their cars in time to avoid accidents. If such drivers know they risk being imprisoned or heavily fined, they will probably be motivated to observe driving regulations more closely. Furthermore, penalising driving offences is the quickest solution since it can be applied immediately and drivers will see the consequences of their faults right away. On the other hand, there are various other means of decreasing the number of traffic accidents. Driving license candidates could be required to sit courses aimed at educating them on the virtues of heeding the law while on the road. This would allow them to realise how driving carefully could benefit both themselves and the people around them. Moreover, new cars could be built in such a way that they restrict the drivers’ ability to commit traffic offences like illegal speeding or turns. For instance, the car’s computer could automatically decrease its maximum speed in residential areas or near intersections. In conclusion, I think any idea that could increase road safety is worth trying, so while driving offences should be heavily punished, solutions like safety classes for new drivers and technologies that prevent offences are also necessary.